ARTSCAPE S02E11: Visions of Emily Carr

Katie & Harold talk to members of the public, as well as Artist & Organizer of the Emily Carr Symposium: Artist, Author, Lover of Nature - Ingrid Mary Percy, Art Historian Kerry Mason, artist Godfrey Stephens, Author of Hunting for Ghosts in Victoria, BC - Sally Jennings, as well as narration of “Art & The House” from The House of All Sorts written by Emily Carr.

This episode had editing & production support from Adam Cantor.

This podcast is proudly supported by the BC Arts Council & CFUV 101.9fm

ARTSCAPE S02E10: DIY Life

Katie and Harold go to the DIY Life : Art / Science / Ecology Fair hosted by Dr. Jennifer Willet & Open Space www.openspace.ca/ with collaborations with the Ministry of Casual Living’s Peddle & Paddle Box gallery ministryofcasualliving.ca , along with many other organizations & individuals including Jennifer Willet’s Great Lakes Algae Organ www.jenniferwillet.com/ , Verena Kaminiarz www.aedc.ca/verena/v_main.htm , Alexis Hogan www.alexisfhogan.com/ , Jim Bomford, Cedric Bomford, Nathan Bomford othersights.ca/deadhead/ , Sergio Rojas Chaves, Christine White christinewhite.ca/ , and Jon Dowdall. Also Guest Curator of Open Space Doug Jarvis www.dougjarvis.ca/ and Asst Curator Megan Quigley lead us through some of the things to see at the fair.

Also featuring local music by the Victoria Composer’s Collective www.victoriacomposerscollective.com/ , Naked Chillin @nakedchillen , Bel belsounds.bandcamp.com/releases , Croatia croatia.bandcamp.com/ , okpk @okpk , Loft sounds @loft-sound , Moths & Locusts mothsandlocusts.bandcamp.com/ , hansmole hansmole.com/ & Apple Pipe @apple-pipe .

This podcast is proudly supported by the BC Arts Council and brought to you by CFUV 101.9fm

ARTSCAPE S02E09: Gender as Art

Katie explores the complexities of gender and how artists are exploring this topic through a variety of mediums. Interviews with Kye Plant feelinweird.com/ Wynne Neilly www.wynneneilly.com/ & the West Coast League of Lady Wrestlers www.facebook.com/wclolw/ , wclolw.tumblr.com/ , www.wclolw.com/ Featuring artists Margaret Bowes www.margaretbowes.com , Leya Tess www.leyatess.com/ , Julie Gennai @juliegennai , Kay Gallivan, Jenna Clarke, Celine Grandbois, and Grant Hash.

Also featuring music by local musicians Old Girl oldgirl.bandcamp.com/ , The Backhomes thebackhomesband.bandcamp.com/ , and Fascination fascinati0n.bandcamp.com/releases.

This podcast is brought to you by the CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council

ARTSCAPE S02E08: Victoria Hip Hop - A Community of Ghosts 2

Harold continues his search exploring the darker realms of the Victoria hip hop community and uncovers haunting connections to local histories.

Featuring music and interviews from Misc. Friend @miscfriend , General Gruff & Wolf Pack Man Dolorean generalgruff.bandcamp.com/, Paint the town Red www.facebook.com/PaintTheTownRed250/ , Cathedral Bloom @cathedralbloom , Lo::Sun @lo-sun .

This podcast is proudly supported by the BC Arts Council & CFUV 101.9fm

ARTSCAPE S02E07: Victoria Hip Hop - A Community of Ghosts

Harold embarks on a mysterious journey to uncover who is apart of and where is Victoria's Hip Hop community?

Featuring Music and interviews from Langdon Auger langdonauger.bandcamp.com/track/island-nights-2 , Bob le head @bob-le-head , Dee Jay Anger @dee-jay-anger , Dia-Nos @dia-nos , llvis Freshly illvisfreshly.bandcamp.com/ , Sweatpants Superstars itunes.apple.com/us/artist/sweatp…tars/id261991282 , La Ro$a @ladylarosa , and Sundry NoName sundrynoname.bandcamp.com/releases

This podcast is brought to you by the CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council

ARTSCAPE S02E06: The Art of Media

The Art of Media featuring many guests from a multitude of organizations and creative ventures all surrounding the diverse art form of media. Kye Plant feelinweird.libsyn.com/ , kyeplant.bandcamp.com/releases, kyeplant.tumblr.com/ Toni Hall @emplicitrhythm , EMP Interactions www.facebook.com/EMPinteractions/, Pretty Good Not Bad Festival prettygoodnotbad.ca/ Steeve Allen Bjornson sabjorn.net/, vibeups.com/author/sabjorn/ , Limbic Media limbicmedia.ca/ Rick & Susy Raxlen www.raxpix.com/ www.cfmdc.org/user/9967, www.openspace.ca/RICHARD-RAXLEN-introspective, www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vyOW8dbgfU

Featuring the local music of: General Gruff generalgruff.bandcamp.com/, Equivaux - Light Mint (Mighty Speck Records : Nature & Nations), Olav @olav, Doomking doomking.bandcamp.com/album/a-mark-o…r-in-existence, Bl▲ck ▲lice solarmasscollective.bandcamp.com/album/il…ur-l-ugh.

This podcast is brought to you by the CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council

ARTSCAPE S02E05: A Quest for Art Education (Part 2)

Will Harold ever figure out which is the best mode for Art Education?

It's Institution vs. Self Taught.

He talks to guests Justin A. Langlois justinlanglois.com/eventualvacancy.org/ , Jean- Luc Murry www.mbam.qc.ca/en/ , Godfrey Stephens www.godfreysart.com/www.facebook.com/Wood-Storms-Wild…267827263367367/ , Regan Rasmussen, Yesman Post
Featuring local musicians: Karel Roessingh www.roessong.com/, Zayn Wiwchar @loft-sound 

With some short Musical Examples from: Art Blakey, Carlos Santana, Charles Mingus, Charlie Parker, Freddie King, Herbie Hancock, Jimi Hendrix, Michel Legrand, Miles Davis, Paul Desmond, Angel Romero .

This podcast is produced by CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council.

ARTSCAPE S02E02: Island of Voices

Island of Voices is a collaboration between 8 students in Brad Cunningham’s Humanities Flex Class at Reynold’s Secondary School,. Under the direction of Chris O’Connor at the Royal BC Museum, we partnered with Secllemah (Elder Joan Morris) and Mark Salter of the Songhees Nation. The students interviewed Dr. Nancy Turner, Ethnobotanist and Dr. Darcy Mathews, Anthropologist to find out more about the Songhees (Lekwungen) people, and the colonial practices of the Canadian government, Songhees island Ty'ches and the landscape that we live, work and create on. (**Mature Subject matter - Listener Discretion is Advised**)

This episode features the local Victoria band, SOUTHWOODS with their debut self titled album.

This podcast is brought to you by the CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council

ARTSCAPE S02E01: Art & Spirituality

This episode explores Art & Spirituality. Katie and Harold spoke with 4 regional artists, Marcus Knox www.rosepetalbead.com , Claire Ryder, Lindsay Katsitsakatste Delaronde, and Margaret Briere margaretwarriorlov0.wix.com/skwetu-artw…me/mainPage.

Featuring tracks from Claire & Marcus' album, as well as music from General Gruff, from General Gruff's Golden Hits Vol I & II generalgruff.bandcamp.com

This podcast is brought to you by the CFUV 101.9fm and proudly supported by the BC Arts Council